Skip to Content
About Us / Doctors
Tony Fitzgerald

Dr Abhijeet Ajay Munshi

M.S., F.I.C.S., F.M.A.S., D.M.A.S.(FRANCE)

Hon. Laparoscopic & Endoscopic surgeon - V.S. Hospital

Dr. Praful H. Munshi
After his early education at Sharda Mandir High School he completed his M.B.B.S. from Smt N.H.L. Municipal Medical College, Ahmedabad.
Before doing his Postgraduate studies he gained experience by working as a house officer in Sterling Hospital, Ahmedabad from 26/03/2007 till 30/06/2007 and later as a locum first year resident in the Department of General Surgery at Smt N.H.L. Municipal Medical College, V.S. Hospital and Sheth K.M. School of Post Graduate Medicine & Research, Ahmedabad from 02/07/2007 to 30/11/2007.
He did his further post graduate studies (M.S. General Surgery) at Bharati Vidyapeeth Deemed University, Pune. During his M.S. (General Surgery) training he had gained experience in UROSURGERY, NEUROSURGERY, PEDIATRIC SURGERY & PLASTIC – COSMETIC SURGERY by rotation.
He then went to France to gain experience in Minimal Access Surgery. He worked under the guidance and supervision of Professor Jacques Marescaux (Editor in Chief – WebSurg) as a fellow in the Department of Digestive & Endocrine Surgery in the University Hospital in Strasbourg – France for a period of one month.
He obtained Diploma in Minimal Access Surgery from the University of Strasbourg – France.


During his M.B.B.S. study he received a total of 12 medals :
6 from Gujarat University, 3 from Smt N.H.L.Municipal Medical College, 3 from Ahmedabad Medical Association – a branch of Indian Medical Association.
  • Dr Bhailal Nagindas Doctor Medal 2005 – 3rd M.B.B.S.
  • Dr Motibhai D Patel Medal 2005 – 3rd M.B.B.S.
  • Diwan Shobhraj Jethanand Ahuja Medal 2005 – 3rd M.B.B.S.
  • Pruthvish K Desai Medal 2005 – 3rd M.B.B.S.
  • Dr Vandravandas Shah Medal – 3rd M.B.B.S.
  • Niraj Tilakraj Malhan Medal 2005 – 3rd M.B.B.S.
  • Sheth Chimanlal Lalbhai Gold Medal For Highest Marks In Surgery
  • Dr Miss S.C.Pandya Gold Medal For Highest Marks In Obstetrics & Gynaecology
  • Dr N.R Motwani Gold Medal For Highest Total IN 3rd M.B.B.S.
  • Dr Shankar Govind Joshi Medal For Standing 1st In Final M.B.B.S.
  • Dr Trikamal Dullabhdas Vani Medal For First In General Surgery In Final M.B.B.S.
  • Dr Kanaiyalal Gulabdas Vani Medal For First In Obstetrics & Gynaecology In Final M.B.B.S

He also received
two cash prizes :

  • Dr Anand S Shah Cash Prize For Standing 1St In Final M.B.B.S. Examination
  • Mrs Manorama Dolatrai Desai Cash Prize For Getting Highest Number Of Marks In Obstetrics & Gynaecology In Final M.B.B.S. Examination.

He received four
certificates from
Medical Education
Research Unit & College Gymkhana Smt. N.H.L. Municipal Medical College :

  • For standing 1st in SURGERY
  • For standing 1st in GRAND TOTAL
  • For standing 1st in OBSTETRICS & GYNAECOLOGY
  • For standing 3rd in PEDIATRICS
During his study in M.B.B.S. he secured distinction marks in Ophthalmology, Pediatrics, General Surgery and Obstetrics - Gynaecology.
He secured 1st Rank in M.S. General Surgery Examination held at Bharati Vidyapeeth Deemed University, Pune.


  • Presented scientific paper at MASICON 2011 – Major penetrating chest trauma.
  • Participated in the annual conference GUJSURGCON 2011
  • Participated in Surgical Quiz – GLOVES OFF – 2009 at M N BUDHRANI CANCER INSTITUTE, PUNE.
  • Presented scientific paper at ACRSICON 2009-10.
  • Participated as a delegate in J.B Haribhakti CSE – 2007.
  • Participated in ACRSICON 2007.
  • Participated as a trainee in the programme of HIV/AIDS for doctors on March 7-8 2006 supported by AMCACS.
  • He has attended and conducted several diagnostic camps in and around Pune during his surgical training.


  • Founder Life Member Of Indian Society Of Ambulatory Surgery (ISAS)
  • Indian Medical Association
  • Hernia Society Of India
  • Association Of Surgeons Of India (ASI)
  • Association Of Minimal Access Surgeons Of India (AMASI)
  • Indian Association Of Gastro Intestinal Endo Surgeons (IAGES)
  • Gujarat State Surgeons’ Association (GSSA)
Back to top